Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho has been named Premier League manager of the season while Eden Hazard took the player of the season award.

Mourinho guided Chelsea to their first Premier League title in five years earlier this month which completed a domestic double, with the Blues having beaten Tottenham in the Capital One Cup final at Wembley in March.

The Portuguese, in his second spell at Stamford Bridge, won the award ahead of fellow nominees Ronald Koeman, Garry Monk, Nigel Pearson and Arsene Wenger despite not winning a single manager of the month award during the season.

This is the third time Mourinho has won the award after he was also recognised after Chelsea's league triumphs during the 2004-05 and 2005-06 campaigns.

He succeeds Tony Pulis, who was named 2013-14 manager of the year after he masterminded Crystal Palace's remarkable escape from relegation.

Mourinho told Fanz Champ: "It is, as you like to say in England, the icing on the cake, but the cake is more important than the icing. The cake is the Premier League, the cake is the objective of the manager, of the technical staff, of the squad, of the club, of the millions of supporters, and I work for the cake, I don't work for this.

"If, at the top of the cake, I am the manager of the season, obviously I am very happy with that."

He added: "The problem in football is that you are eating one cake and you are still thinking about the next one. This is permanent.

"So I enjoy this cake very, very much, I have missed it for a while because the last one was in the 2005-06, but to go back to England and win it again is a fantastic feeling."

Chelsea midfielder Hazard, meanwhile, has been crowned Premier League player of the season.

Hazard's teammates John Terry, Cesc Fabregas and Nemanja Matic were also nominated for the award, as were Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero, Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez.

The latest accolade completes a remarkable campaign for the Belgium star that also saw him named Professional Footballers' Association and Football Writers' Association player of the year.

Hazard was unable to receive his FWA gong in person after emergency dental surgery prevented him from attending Thursday's ceremony.