When Is The African Nations Championship Draw

African teams collide in November when the African Nations Championship draw will be made and 16 teams know their fate towards continental glory.

Congo DR made history in 2016 by becoming the first team to win two titles but they will be missing out after being dumped by Congo-Brazzaville. Libya are the only past champions in this edition. However, the Mediterranean Knights will not have an easy run at glory, with the likes Zambia, Cameroon and Nigeria set to challenge, while Equatorial Guinea, Egypt and Namibia make their debut.

When Will The Draw Be Made

The draw for the 2018 African Nations Championship takes place on Friday, November 17 at Sofitel Rabat. The 16 teams will be zoned into four groups of four teams. Though the draw procedure will be confirmed by the Confederation of African Football, hosts Morocco will be seeded in Group A.

What Teams Are In The Draw

Pot 1 Pot 2 Pot 3 Pot 4
Morocco Cameroon Congo Burkina Faso
Angola Guinea Uganda Equatorial Guinea
Cote d'Ivoire Nigeria Rwanda Mauritania
Libya Zambia Sudan Namibia

The African Nations Championship is being hosted in Morocco after Kenya got stripped of the hosting right.

The tournament will be played in four stadia across Casablanca (Group A), Marrakech (Group B), Tangier (Group C) and Agair (Group D).

They are Stade Mohamed V, Stade de Marrakech, Stade Ibn Batouta and Stade Adrar.