Mesut Ozil out of Germany squad for upcoming World Cup Qualifiers

Mesut Ozil has been left out of Germany's squad for their upcoming World Cup Qualifiers against Northern Ireland and Azerbaijan.

The World Cup winner joins Mario Gotze and Sami Khedira in missing the final two matches but Bayern Munich's Jerome Boateng and Manchester City's Leroy Sane return, coach Joachim Low said on Friday.

Ozil has played five times for the Gunners this season and came on in the 83rd minute during their 2-0 win over West Brom on Monday night, having suffered "a minor inflammation" of his knee earlier this month.

"It is unfortunate that some of our key players will not be with us," said Low, whose noticeable absentees include injured goalkeeper Manuel Neuer and forward Mario Gomez.

"I expect Mesut Ozil and Sami Khedira to recover during this break for international matches. That is more important for them now. What will be decisive for us is that the players are fully fit next year."

The Germans are top of their qualifying group after winning all of their eight games and need just one point from their last two matches to secure a spot in next year's World Cup in Russia.

The 2014 World Cup winners face the team that sit second in the group, Northern Ireland, on 5 October before hosting Azerbaijan three days later, with both games live on Sky Sports Football.

Germany Squad:

Goalkeepers: Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (PSG)

Defenders: Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Shkodran Mustafi (Arsenal), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha Berlin), Antonio Ruediger (Chelsea), Niklas Suele (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Emre Can (Liverpool), Julian Draxler (Paris Saint-Germain), Leon Goretzka (Schalke), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Sebastian Rudy (Bayern Munich), Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Amin Younes (Ajax)

Forwards: Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Lars Stindl (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Sandro Wagner (Hoffenheim), Timo Werner (Leipzig)